22
Feb
07

Gospel for Believers

I grew up in church with an unhealthy paradigm in my mind. It went something along these lines: The gospel is for unbelievers, they need to hear it and then come to faith. Once they’ve come to faith then they mature and they start to learn doctrine.

And so when a minister, who is now a friend of mine, told me that he preached the gospel every Sunday I was a bit concerned – how would his congregation mature? There were two problems with my thinking – I saw the gospel as too small, I basically equated the formula that you’ll find on some ‘old school’ evangelism tract with the gospel. I needed a bigger picture of the gospel. Secondly, and following on, I disconnected doctrine or teaching from the gospel – I didn’t see the two as naturally compatible. It took me a while to work through these things until I got to the point, where I’m still at, where I can’t conceive opening the Bible to any audience without teaching the gospel.

Now the reason for this little  admission is because I’ve finally gotten round to listening to those Tim Keller talks that I mentioned a few weeks ago and I’ve decided (yes I who make all dogmatic decisions) that Tim Keller is best preacher of the gospel to believers that I’ve ever heard. So if you’re wondering how to apply the gospel to believers go download the talks – in fact download everything you can find of Tim Keller’s and listen to it carefully, and let a master teach you about THE master.

3 Responses to “Gospel for Believers”


  1. February 22, 2007 at 4:49 pm

    Solid, solid reminder. Thanks for posting this

  2. 2 chris242
    January 7, 2008 at 11:33 pm

    Interesting. Its so important. I was reading Martyn Loyd jones’ book ‘Preaching and preachers’. He was saying how important it is to preach the gospel to believers. He commented on an incident that took place in the 1800′s. He said there was a sweeping revival and so many people became christians that there was no longer any distinction between the church and the world for a time. However, what then happened was that preachers no longer made distinction between believer and unbeliver. It is something to watch out for, especially in second and third generation churches.

  3. 3 Ron Hodgman
    June 8, 2008 at 3:16 am

    When I started going to a church that decided to preach the gospel every Sunday. I too believed that this would get old after a while. However, one needs to be reminded what the gospel message is because it is to easy to forget that I am as sinner saved by grace and start living the life of a Pharisee saved by a gospel plan of salvation. I now fully understand Martin Luther’s teaching on this subject that repentance is not a one time event but a life long process.


Leave a Reply

I shmaak SA Blogs, sorted with Amatomu.com
Afrigator
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
AddThis Feed Button
website statistics

Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

